Fumio Nambata


1941 – 1971


Born in 1941, Fumio is the second son of abstract painter Tatsuoki Nambata. In 1960, at the age of 19, he graduates from Waseda University Senior High School.

Absorbed in his readings, he senses the emptiness of the existence, and enters the Art department of the Bunka Gakuin school in Tokyo, intending to become a painter. With no interest in the traditional pedagogy of sketching, he wanders the streets of Kanda alone, drawing and developping his inner pictural world.

He creates works full of acutely intricate lines and profound color palette, most of which portray an imaginary world rendered in ink and transparent watercolor. In 1967, he has his first solo exhibition at the gallery Dainana in Shinbashi, Tokyo.

Before he tragically died in an accident at the age 32, he had painted more than 2000 works of art. As a painter cut off in his prime, a youthful painter, his popularity is still deep-rooted, and led to the 2008 publication of extracts from his voluminous diaries (Terminus, Space Station, Genki Shobo). This tome and a retrospective of his work at the Setagaya Art Musuem in Tokyo the same year, continue to shed new light on his thoughts and oeuvre.

Solo Exhibitions

– 1967 Dainana Gallery, Shinbashi, Tokyo, Japan
– 2008 Permanent collection exhibtion, Setagaya Art Musuem, Tokyo, Japan
– 2012 Retrospective, Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, Japan

Public Collections

– Setagaya Art Museum, Tokyo, Japan




Others artists

Fumio Nambata


1941 – 1971


Né en 1941, Fumio est le second fils du peintre abstrait Tatsuoki Nambata. En 1960, à l’âge de 19 ans il sort diplômé de la Senior High School de l’Université de Waseda, à Tokyo.

Absorbé par ses lectures et un certain vide existentiel, il entre au département des Arts de l’école Bunka Gakuin à Tokyo, avec l’intention de devenir peintre. Il n’éprouve que peu d’intérêt pour l’enseignement académique du dessin, et passe son temps à errer dans les rues de Kanda avec ses carnets à croquis. Il développe un monde intérieur pictural au fil de ses promenades.

Ses œuvres à l’univers poétique et délicat, souvent faites de fines lignes représentant un monde imaginaire et excentrique, prennent vie par des jeux de transparence crées à l’encre et à la gouache. En 1967, la galerie Dainana à Shinbashi, organise sa première exposition personnelle.

Avant sa mort accidentelle en 1974 à l’âge de 32 ans, Fumio avait déjà peint plus de 2000 œuvres. Coupé en pleine élan dans sa jeunesse, il reste un peintre à la popularité forte, ce qui poussera la publication en 2008 de volumineux carnets personnels (Terminus, Space Station, Genki Shobo). Cette publication ainsi que la rétrospective de son œuvre qui a eu lieu en 2008 au Setagaya Art Musuem de Tokyo, offre un nouvel éclairage sur ce peintre fulgurant.

Expositions personnelles

– 1967 Dainana Gallery, Shinbashi, Tokyo, Japon
– 2008 Permanent collection exhibtion, Setagaya Art Musuem, Tokyo, Japon
– 2012 Retrospective, Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, Japon

Collections publiques

– Setagaya Art Museum, Tokyo, Japon




Autres artistes