Hisao Domoto


1928 – 2013


Born in Kyoto to a famous family of painters, Hisao Domoto’s father was a collector of traditional Japanese ceramics and calligraphy. From the age of 13, he began to paint and pursued his studies at the Kyoto School of Fine Arts from 1945 to 1949. He was awarded the Nitten Prize in 1957, where he exhibited his work on numerous occasions.

In 1952, Hisao Domoto travelled extensively within Europe, visiting Italy, Spain and France, where he went on to meet many of his fellow countrymen such as Tabuchi, Imai, Sato and Sugai. He quickly became fascinated with French contemporary art, particularly the work of Dubuffet and Marino Marini, which triggered his separation with his classical Japanese painting.

He moved to Paris in 1955 where he stayed until 1965. During this time, he settled at the Grande Chaumiere Academy in Henri Goetz’s studio, and became acquainted with Sam Francis, Riopelle, Soulages and Zao Wou-Ki. In 1957, his work was included in the Salon de Mai exhibition, where his technique took on a more Informel approach. “His painting was set apart by a dynamic writing, bringing in colourful splashes of oriental essence, where the gestual would blend into the European abstract expressionism whilst evoking the movement of these elements.” Lydia Harambourg (L’Ecole de Paris 1945 -1965, Dictionnaire des Peintres, p.148). Domoto is considered to be one of the faces of the Gutai movement, and he was represented by the Stadler Gallery from 1957 to the early 1960s.

From 1965, Domoto’s work evolved. He moved away from lyric abstraction found in the European Informel movement and steered towards a new methodology. By dividing his canvases into different parts; using collages in parallel pleats and concentrated on contrasting colours and geometric shapes. Domoto later moved towards neoconstructivism in the 1970s. He died in 2013 at the age of 85.

SOLO EXHIBITIONS

– 1957 Galerie Stadler, Paris, France
– 1962 Galerie Stadler, Paris, France
– 1963 Galerie Handschin, Bâle, Suisse ; Galleria d’arte “Il Centro”, Naples, Italie
– 1965 Galerie Euronen, Paris, France
– 1979 Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, France
– 1985 Galerie Stadler, Paris, France
– 2005 The National Museum of Modern Art, Kyoto, Japon

COLLECTIVE EXHIBITIONS

– 1952 “Artistes japonais” (“Japanese Artists”) Musée du Jeu de Paume, Paris, France
– 1956 à 1962 Salon de Mai, Paris, France
– 1958 “Jeunes Peintres étrangers” (“Young Foreign Painters”) Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris, Premier Prix
– 1958 “The International Art of a New Era” (Informel and Gutai) travelling exhibition between Japan, USA and Europe
– 1958 – 1959 « Orient/Occident », musée Cernuschi, Paris, France
– 1959 “Quinze peintres de Paris”, (“Fifteen painters from Paris”), Cologne, Germany
– 1960 “Antagonismes”, (“Antagonisms”) Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, France
– 1966 « The New Japanese Painting and Sculpture: an exhibition », Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA

PUBLIC COLLECTIONS

– Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, USA
– Musée National d’Art Moderne – Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
– Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA




Others artists

Hisao Domoto


1928 – 2013


Né à Kyoto dans une célèbre famille de peintres, son père est collectionneur de céramiques et calligraphies japonaises anciennes. Dès l’âge de 13 ans, il commence à peindre puis suivra les cours de l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Kyoto entre 1945 et 1949. Il obtient en 1957 le Grand Prix du Nitten, Salon de l’Académie, où il exposera à plusieurs reprises.

En 1952, il effectue son premier voyage en Europe et visite l’Italie, l’Espagne et la France où il passera plusieurs mois et fera la connaissance de ses compatriotes : Tabuchi, Imai, Sato et Sugai. Il est très impressionné par l’art contemporain français qu’il découvre, mais c’est le travail de deux artistes en particulier – Dubuffet et Marino Marini – qui l’incite à rompre avec la peinture japonaise classique.

Il s’installe à Paris à partir de 1955 et y demeurera jusqu’en 1965. Pendant cette période, il s’établit à la Grande Chaumière dans l’atelier de Goetz, et se lie avec Sam Francis, Riopelle, Soulages et Zao Wou-Ki. Dès 1957, il expose au Salon de Mai, date à laquelle sa peinture devient informelle. « Elle se caractérise par une écriture dynamique faisant intervenir des éclaboussures colorées d’essence orientale, et dont la gestualité, tout en évoquant le mouvement des éléments, s’intègre à l’expressionisme abstrait européen» Lydia Harambourg (L’Ecole de Paris 1945 -1965, Dictionnaire des Peintres, p.148). Représenté par la galerie Stadler de 1957 au début des années 1960, il est considéré comme l’une des figures du mouvement Gutai.

A partir de 1965 son travail évolue. Il se détache de l’abstraction lyrique des informels européens et se dirige vers une nouvelle recherche : il divise ses toiles en plusieurs parties, utilise des collages en forme de plissés parallèles, se concentre sur des couleurs contrastées et des formes géométriques. Puis à partir des années 70, il s’oriente vers un néo-constructivisme. Domoto meurt en 2013 à l’âge de 85 ans.

EXPOSITIONS PERSONNELLES

– 1957 Galerie Stadler, Paris, France
– 1962 Galerie Stadler, Paris, France
– 1963 Galerie Handschin, Bâle, Suisse ; Galleria d’arte “Il Centro”, Naples, Italie
– 1965 Galerie Euronen, Paris, France
– 1979 Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, France
– 1985 Galerie Stadler, Paris, France
– 2005 National Museum of Modern Art, Kyoto, Japon

EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIVES

– 1952 « Artistes japonais » Musée du Jeu de Paume, Paris, France
– 1956 à 1962 Salon de Mai, Paris, France
– 1958 « Jeunes Peintres étrangers » Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris, Premier Prix
– 1958 « The International Art of a New Era » (Informel et Gutai) exposition itinérante Japon, USA et Europe
– 1958 – 1959 « Orient/Occident », musée Cernuschi, Paris, France
– 1959 « Quinze peintres de Paris », Cologne, Allemagne
– 1960 « Antagonismes », Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, France
– 1966 « The New Japanese Painting and Sculpture: an exhibition », Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA

COLLECTIONS PUBLIQUES

– Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, USA
– Musée National d’Art Moderne – Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
– Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA




Autres artistes