Jun Dobashi


1910 – 1975


Junichi “Jun” Dobashi was born in Tokyo in 1910. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Tokyo and graduated in oil painting in 1938. He was a member of a group of known artists in Japan known as the Khinjukai. In 1938, he moved to Paris and joined the Ranson Academy, until he left France in 1939.

Upon his return to Japan, he was sent to Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos by the foreign minister. Dobashi returned to France in 1953 for a longer period of time and took part in the Salon d’Automne and the Salon des Comparaisons, where he moved closer towards the European Art Informel movement.

Dobashi earned a reputation as a lithographer and was awarded the Prix du Dôme in 1956. He exhibited his work frequently at the Salon de Mai between 1956 and 1960, and also took part at an exhibition at the Galerie Charpentier in 1960. The artist had a solo show at the Redfern Gallery in London in 1961, which marked a turning point in his career. His works were, from then on, frequently exhibited at the Fricker Gallery in Paris until 1969. He also exhibited with other artists in Germany and the United States. “His works of art reflect an abstraction; calling to mind various textural effects on a vibrant, colourful background.” Lydia Harambourg (L’Ecole de Paris 1945 -1965, Dictionnaire des Peintres, p.147).

Dobashi is the author of “Ancient Culture and Art of the South” and a collection of essays entitled: “Return to the South”. He returned to Japan in 1969, and continued his career in Tokyo. He died in 1975 at the age of 65 years.

SOLO EXHIBITIONS

– 1957 Galerie Iris Clert, Paris, France
– 1959 Carroll Carstairs Gallery, New York, USA
– 1961 Galerie Fricker, Paris (gouaches et lithographies), France
– 1961 Redfern Gallery, London, United Kingdom

COLLECTIVE EXHIBITIONS

– 1953 Salon d’Automne, Paris, France
– 1956 -1960 Salon de Mai, Paris, France
– 1960 Galerie Charpentier, Paris, France
– 1963 Exposition d’Art Contemporain, Paris, France
– 1964 Exposition internationale Carnegie, USA
– 1965 2e Biennale internationale des arts graphiques, Tokyo, Japan
– 1966 6e Exposition internationale d’art du Japon, Tokyo, Japan

PUBLIC COLLECTIONS

– Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris, France
– The Israel Museum, Jerusalem, Israel
– Museum of Modern Art, New York, United States




Others artists

Jun Dobashi


1910 – 1975


Junichi « Jun » Dobashi est né à Tokyo en 1910. Il étudie à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Tokyo et obtient son diplôme de peinture à l’huile en 1938. Il est alors membre d’un groupe d’artistes connus au Japon sous le nom de Khinjukai. En 1938, il s’installe à Paris et s’inscrit à l’Académie Ranson, puis quitte la France en 1939.

De retour au Japon, il est envoyé au Vietnam, au Cambodge et au Laos par le ministère des affaires étrangères. Dobashi revient en France en 1953 pour un plus long séjour et participe aux Salon d’Automne et Salon des Comparaisons ; il se rapproche du mouvement Informel européen.

Il devient un artiste lithographe confirmé et reçoit le Prix du Dôme en 1956. Il expose régulièrement au Salon de Mai entre 1956 et 1960, puis participe à une exposition sur l’Ecole de Paris à la Galerie Charpentier en 1960. C’est une exposition personnelle à la célèbre Redfern Gallery de Londres en 1961 qui marque un tournant dans sa carrière. Ses œuvres seront par la suite régulièrement exposées à la Galerie Fricker à Paris jusqu’en 1969. Il participe également à des expositions de groupe en Allemagne et aux Etats-Unis. « Ses œuvres reflètent une abstraction faisant appel à des effets de matières sur fond d’un tachisme aux vives couleurs », Lydia Harambourg (L’Ecole de Paris 1945 -1965, Dictionnaire des Peintres, p.147)

Dobashi est l’auteur de « Ancient Culture and Art of the South » et d’un recueil d’essais intitulé “Return to the South”. De retour au Japon en 1969, il poursuit son travail à Tokyo. Il décède en 1975 à l’âge de 65 ans.

EXPOSITIONS PERSONNELLES

– 1957 Galerie Iris Clert, Paris, France
– 1959 Carroll Carstairs Gallery, New York, USA
– 1961 Galerie Fricker, Paris (gouaches et lithographies), France
– 1961 Redfern Gallery, Londres, Royaume-Uni

EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIVES

– 1953 Salon d’Automne, Paris, France
– 1956 -1960 Salon de Mai, Paris, France
– 1960 Galerie Charpentier, Paris, France
– 1963 Exposition d’Art Contemporain, Paris, France
– 1964 Exposition internationale Carnegie, USA
– 1965 2e Biennale internationale des arts graphiques, Tokyo, Japon
– 1966 6e Exposition internationale d’art du Japon, Tokyo, Japon

COLLECTIONS PUBLIQUES

– Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris, France
– Musée d’Israël, Jérusalem, Israël
– Museum of Modern Art, New York, Etats-Unis




Autres artistes